Water Without Rain

I’ve just begun a secular music fast, which is set to last for 40 days. I’m only in the second day and already I am sensing a change… A shift in my paradigm is taking place. But lets face it, fasting with no action is completely void of purpose, so I’ve also amped up my time in God’s word.
Many of you know that I am a songwriter and LOVE creativity of all types. Well I’m finding that as I move forward, digging, soaking, and eating up God’s word, He is pouring out new creativity in me. I’m finding new lyrics and melodies, even my drawing abilities seem to be sharper than usual (I do aspire to be, in some shape or form, a comic book artist).
When i kicked off the fast, I asked God where I should begin reading and got my answer through, once again, the story of Benaiah the lion chaser. I ventured in to 1 Kings and began reading about the amazing (yet still flawed) king that Solomon was. In my endeavors to be a lion chaser in my everyday life, it was SO cool seeing Benaiah move from the mantle of King David, to his son Solomon. Benaiah stayed faithful to Solomon and eventually moved from the king’s body guard to a commander in the army!
I stopped at about 1 Kings 15 and took a breather, and then this morning I picked up 2 Kings and began reading. At this point in the “kings” section of the bible, things are pretty messed up. The royalty that has succeeded Solomon and David have pretty much deserted the ways of God and its led to nothing but… Well… Not goodness. But I did come across something that struck me. Now this is just at first glance for me, and I will be going back to look a little deeper, but I felt I needed to share it because I think this may be a word for someone today. Here’s the verse:
“While the harpist was playing, the hand of the LORD came on Elisha 16 and he said, “This is what the LORD says: I will fill this valley with pools of water. 17 For this is what the LORD says: You will see neither wind nor rain, yet this valley will be filled with water, and you, your cattle and your other animals will drink. 18 This is an easy thing in the eyes of the LORD; he will also deliver Moab into your hands. 19 You will overthrow every fortified city and every major town. You will cut down every good tree, stop up all the springs, and ruin every good field with stones.”
Now the situation is this. The king of Israel teamed up with the king of Judah and the king of Edom in an effort to kick the crud out of Moab. From what I read, they pretty much aimlessly marched around and used up all their supplies, at which point they realized they had no prophet of the Lord in whom to console. Elisha, who now walked with the mantle of Elija all over him, just happened to be in the area and spoke that word of the Lord over them.
Now that verse stirred me up all crazy like because I feel that its a word for someone today.
You are dried up, tired, and facing a slew of enemies and challenges in front of you. But God is pouring out refreshing water even in a season without rain! Your enemy will be cut down and provision poured out on you!
I have no idea who this may be for, but I know its striking the heart of someone… Heck it may be for me and it will hit me later, either way, God is SO good and His desire for us is to be totally, completely and overwhelmingly soaked in everything that He is!!!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 5 other subscribers
  • Like Me!