The problem with remembering.

There’s a peace that comes from visiting home. A peace with remembering some of the greatest moments in my life.
But its not just peace, in fact sometimes its longing. Longing for how things were back then.
A longing for the comrades, the favor, the blessing, the community and probably so many other things that I cant even think of at the moment.

In the past I’ve found myself at places, turning points, forks in the road, whatever you want to call them, where I began thinking about the past and the people, places, events, songs, messages, and what ever else entered my mind about those moments in my history… I began to long for those days and people. At times I mistook that longing for a calling back to that area, church, or relationship… But what it really was, was a call forward.
I believe those feelings can serve as a distraction if we let them. The enemy would have those memories distorted and morphed in to distraction, but Gods true intent is to fuel our forward momentum and refresh us at the same time.

I recently took at trip out to my parents house in Snohomish Washington and my wife and I got to just kick back and enjoy being with them. The next day we took off for Wenatchee to attend a memorial service for my great uncle Jerry. We got to spend time with family that we rarely get to see and talk about life as we spent time celebrating the life of uncle Jerry. How refreshing it is to fellowship with and love on family.
On the drive back home, my memories began drifting back to 2006-07 and my time spent as an intern at The Rock Church in Monroe Washington. I lived with an amazing family out in Sultan at that time and we passed right by their place on the way home. I found myself leaning back in my seat smiling and soaking in the warmth of the memories God had blessed me with. I began longing for those people… For that time… I would never leave where I am now without a clear word from God, but I noticed how easily I could have said,
“wow, I guess I really do miss them. Maybe God is calling us to leave Federal Way…”
When in reality, His desire is to fuel my vision with the people, experience…. the memories, of my days past. He wants to accelerate us!!!

Where am I going with this random note….
Some of us will make hard decisions that will later on open doors to HUGE things. As we step through the doors, we will remember the past and long for the experiences and people we new back then. DO NOT TURN, REMEMBER EVERYTHING AND FUEL YOUR FIRE!!!! He wants to accelerate you forward!!!!!

I’m not sure who this was for. I know this was a word for myself, but there may be someone else out there who needed to hear this as well… I hope I make sense lol.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 5 other subscribers
  • Like Me!